Alcohol crimes can result in serious criminal penalties. When you have been charged with any illegal act involving alcohol beverages, such as underage drinking, open container violations, drunk driving, or public intoxication, you will need a reliable defense attorney. Furthermore, alcohol crimes do not always involve consumption; they may involve using a fake ID, selling alcohol to a minor or to an intoxicated person, Minor in Possession of alcohol (MIP), or violation of liquor license provisions. While legal penalties can range from minor to very serious, an experienced alcohol defense attorney can help defend you in court.
For many people, a DWI is the most serious offense they will ever encounter. In North Carolina, driving while impaired has severe consequences not only for your driver’s license, but your criminal record. The consequences of a DWI can cause you to lose your license, your job, or even your freedom. With such important things at stake, you need the highest quality representation available when dealing with your charges. DWI cases are very complex in nature, and at times can be confusing, especially for someone who is unfamiliar with the criminal justice system. The Fitzpatrick Law Firm devotes all the time necessary to sit down with and explain all aspects of DWI representation to our clients. We will personally keep you informed of all proceedings and developments throughout each stage of the case. When you choose The Fitzpatrick Law Firm to represent you for you DWI charge we will put our experience and expertise to work to help you achieve the best result possible so that you can retain your ability to drive, work, and support yourself and your family.
Underage possession is a criminal offense because it is unlawful for anyone under the age of 21 to even possess alcohol. Law enforcement officers enjoy wide latitude in requiring anyone suspected of underage drinking to submit to an alcohol screening test, and refusing the test is admissible in court. Purchase of Alcohol by Underage Persons – Underage individuals are prohibited from purchasing alcohol. Anyone under the age of 21 who purchases alcohol may be convicted of an underage drinking offense. Using Fake Identification – Fake IDs can land their possessors in serious trouble. In North Carolina, it is illegal to enter or even attempt to enter any establishment where alcohol is sold with the use of false identification. In addition it is illegal to purchase or attempt to purchase alcohol with a fake ID. Fake IDs can lead to a host of other charges, such as forgery or even identity theft. Again, this is not something North Carolina law takes lightly. Providing Alcohol to Underage Persons – North Carolina provides various penalties for those convicted of providing alcohol to an underage person. Depending on whether the alcohol was freely given or sold to an underage person, the law may impose different criminal liability. However, there is always the possibility of fines and loss of driver’s license and potential jail time. LEGAL PENALTIES With the exception of an underage DWI, most underage drinking-related charges are Class One Misdemeanor or Class Two Misdemeanors. Class One Misdemeanors carry a maximum of 120 days of incarceration while Class Two Misdemeanors carry a maximum 60 day penalty. Additionally, most underage drinking violations can result in the accused losing his or her driver’s license. However, our attorneys work hard to identify and utilize every possible mitigating factor to get your charges reduced or dismissed. Particularly for first-time offenders, our attorneys can often obtain desirable alternatives to conviction that can arise from skillful negotiations with the prosecution.